The Chakras - Yoga Orchid

The Chakras

Home / The Chakras

What are the Chakras?

There is more to us than the eye can see…The chakras are the bridge between our inside and outside world.’

In Indian Sanskrit the word Chakra means wheel or disc. The Chakras are the seven energy centres located along the spine. They affect your physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well-being. They are located at the major plexuses of arteries, veins and nerves in the location of the endocrine glands. In the West we talk of the Endocrine System – in the East it is known as the Chakra System.

Think of your body as a computer and the Chakras are like our database. The Chakras spin within the body like windmills, channeling the Universal Life Force into and through us. They are part of the energetic body and regulate our energies, emotions and health.

Each Chakra relates to different aspects of our life. The lower Chakras relate to fundamental requirements, such as survival and sexuality. Their effects become elevated to higher level of functions and desires, such as love, communication, intuition and spirituality as they move up the body.

ChakrasElement and IssuesBija Sounds and Mantras
SAHASARA- WHITEThought – GROWTH, SPIRITUALITY, FAITH, Beyond self – Pituitary GlandOM – I Understand
ANJA – PURPLE Light – CLARITY, VISION, 6th SENSE, Intuition – Pineal Gland Om – I See
VISHUDDHI – BLUESpace – COMMUNICATION, EXPRESSION, Hearing – Thyroid and Throat/Voice Ham – I Speak
ANAHATA – GREEN/PINK Air – LOVE, COMPASSION, TRUST, Touch – Thymus Gland and Heart Yam – I Love
MANIPURA – YELLOWFire – POWER, CONFIDENCE, WILL, EGO, Sight – Pancreas, Stomach/Spleen Ram – I Do
SVADHISTHANA- ORANGEWater – SEXUALITY , PLEASURE / PAIN, JOY, Taste – Gonads Reproduction/Fertility Vam – I Feel
MULADHARA – RED Earth – GROUNDING, SURVIVAL, Smell – Adrenals, Kidneys, Bladder Lam – I Am